Emergence.

Bone marrow, carob and anise sable', wheatgrass, lime, dill, and thyme

It is commonly said that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. Whether it is said about an organization, mass and energy, or an album, I like to think this theory applies to my menus as well.

As I’ve mentioned before, no two CRUX menus are the same. Every time I sit down to design what guests are eating for the week, I see it as a chance to tell a story (serve a dinner), comprised of  chapters (courses). It is my goal that each dish becomes part of a story, greater than that of its individual components (ingredients).

Why do I do this? Wouldn’t it be easier to streamline the menu week-in and week out? Yes, but what I do isn’t about ease, it’s about emotion.

As the storyteller (chef), it is important for me to tell a tale (write a menu) that evokes emotion from the diners; that uses smells, visuals, and plated architecture to transport them to a different time and place. Through no other way can the experience be truly immortalized, I really believe that.

That said, though my menu changes often, comfort and familiarity are the key ingredients of anything I create. Let it be known, my ultimate goal is to move someone the way a song or a painting does- to inspire someone else to do something better. After all, that’s how I wound up where I am today.

“The tragedy of man is that of somebody who is starving and sitting at a richly laden table but does not reach out with his hand, because he cannot see what is right in front of him. For the real world has inexhaustible splendour, the real life is full of meaning and abundance, where we grasp it, it is full of miracles and glory.” – Nicolai Hartmann

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Freedom of Speech

