Dr. Seuss, motherfucker.

“I’m sorry to say so, but sadly it’s true. That bang-ups and hang-ups can happen to you.”- Dr. Seuss

I’ve been pretty down on myself lately. And when I say “down”, I mainly mean angry. Angry at the press, angry at my boss, angry at the world. Headlines have lately all pointed to my past with a heavy hint of mediocrity in the cooking department. There is a lot of speculation on whether my recent rush of press is because of my personality or my food.

I’m going to answer that question.

I’m an addict- first and foremost. I’m not just addicted to drugs. I’m addicted to everything related to anything I like. I spend too much money on clothes, I like to eat well, I like to fuck, I like to cook, I like music, I like my fiancee, I like working, I like writing, and I used to really like drugs. And honestly, I still really like drugs. But I have learned to live without them. Why is this so fascinating? There are millions of people like me. Leave your house right now. Walk to a nearby church. Look at the crowd out side of it chain smoking cigarettes and chugging boiling-hot, shitty coffee. Now talk to one of them. I guarantee you they have much more to offer you as far as words of encouragement, or even things they could say about their own lives that will make you feel better about yourself, than I ever could.

Yes, I am a cook. I also believe I’m a damn good one at that. So what if I haven’t proven my management skills yet. So what if YOU havent eaten my food. That’s your choice, not mine. I’m here, six days a week, 10 am to 11 pm. Cooking, on the line most nights, your food. Have been for about two months now.

So I guess the answer to the question that everyone seems to be asking is this – most people just care about the image – my personality. Because my dining room is empty four nights out of the week.

Don't worry, this isn't my food.

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dr. Seuss, motherfucker.

  1. hey chef, your cooks are behind you, keep kicking ass and we (or i at least) will follow. btw no dead baby brandon : ( – the walking dead.

Freedom of Speech

